I Have A Few Questions

DropZeBait

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi there, first time posting here.
I've always had dogs growing up, never had a cat. and I when I moved out to live on my own I decided to adopt a kitten, I got him when he was 9 weeks old, and he's 11 weeks as of today.
But seeing as I have very little experience with cats nor with kittens I thought this might be a good place to ask a few questions.
Firstly, He is a very social and outgoing cat, follows me around, sits and naps on my lap, enjoys play sessions, but also likes rough play, and personally, I don't mind getting a few scratches. I want him to enjoy these moments, but I have no idea how to let him know that the playtime is over, I usually put it on the ground, or back to '' his place ''.
The thing I'd like to ask is : Is it unwise to rough play with your kitten? will he learn that it's playful and have no intentions to hurt you, or when he gets older, and therefor stronger actually start to hurt me then?

Second question,
From the day I got him, he understood the litterbox, he goes there every time, he doesn't have '' accidents '' downstairs, where the litterbox is, however when he goes upstairs with me when I am going to bed, he comes with me, but then pees in my bed. I let the doors open so he could go downstairs, but he just decides to pee on my bed covers. Friends of mine, who have owned cats for year told me to drag him trough his own pee, I am not going to do that. ever. I feel that it's my mistake for him not understanding this yet. but I'd like some assistance or advice on how to fix this behavior ? do I get an extra litterbox, or do I not take him upstairs untill he's older, and or spayed by then?

Third question :
I have noticed some black / dark stuff in his nose and ears,
( it looks a bit like the dark stuff you have with a pencil eraser.
I have been able to clean it from his nose, but I am not comfortable going into his ears..
what is this? is it common? could it be a disease ?