How's your handwriting?

mbjerkness

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I used to take great pride in my handswriting.
My 7 year old asked my why her teacher writes so much pretter than me. I told her she has to

cheylink

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I'm an artist and it is essential for me to have legible writing, but I also have always felt I can write a pretty letter
!

alicatjoy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I consider my handwriting to be legible. And, I am always being complimented on my neat, pretty, and legible print and cursive. I had a difficult time in school with handwriting as I was a lefty turned right-handed child (by the school system). But, as the years passed, I practiced and took pride in the fact that I had lovely handwriting.

I also do a lot of calligraphy and art and that, too, has helped me to maintain my good handwriting. My print, in my opinion, is nicer than my cursive, but I get compliments on both. However, I do continue to use my handwriting in that I write letters, lists, and the like rather than using a computer and also keep journals. While, over the years, I have noticed that my hands and wrists are less comfortable when writing long diatribes, I continue to use my hands so that I can maintain what I worked so hard to have.

I hope that handwriting does not go out the window the more we use computers, tablets, and the like. It's one of those things I really find important to both adults and children alike. I don't want to lose something that has been a part of cultures all around the world throughout history.

grogs

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Back in grade school, I was a straight C- student in handwriting. That was pretty much the worst grade they would actually give out to anyone who actually did the exercises. In high school, I took drafting. The first year, we had to do the lettering by hand. We could get a maximum of 15 points deducted for our lettering. I got an 85 average in the class.