How To Move With My Feral Cat

trish985

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all...I have been caring for 2 feral cats for 6 years. They are brothers who stayed with me after I was able to catch their 2 other siblings and find homes for them. Mom has been gone for 5 years. All have been fixed/neutered. 2 months ago one of them vanished..now I have just the 1 cat. He never comes in my home...has lived on my front porch in a heated house, with a camera inside.I'm definitely taking him with me to the new house, but am not sure what to do about releasing him when we get there. I've had the carrier outside for weeks, feeding him inside it, so caging him won't be an issue...but I'm terrified he'll just run away and get lost once he's released. I would appreciate any advice!

tabbytom

Happiness is being owned by a cat
Staff Member
Mentor
Purraise
Hello T trish985 , welcome to TCS! :wave3:

Thank you for taking care of the feral cats and for finding homes for them :clapcat:

So sorry to hear that one of them went missing and hope he'll return soon. As for the remaining one, can you prepare s safe room for him in your new house before moving in? At this moment, soak up as much scent of him as possible and bring those blankets and towels and place them in the safe room.
Also, if he has a litter box now, bring some old litter over. If he does not have a litter box, scoop whatever soil/leaves from where he poo and pee and bring those over.

Reason for doing that is to keep him indoors in the new house. It's safer for him indoors than outdoors and chances of him staying indoor the new house is greater.
He might or definitely run away and disappear if you leave him outdoors at the new area as the place and surroundings are new to him and there might be other predators around including humans that does not like cats.