How Much Attention Does A Cat Need?

valeps

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I figured since I got so many helpful replies last time I posted a question about my cat concerns it would be worth it to try again and see what you all have to say because I am currently feeling like a very bad cat mom to my precious Olive. For the last month-ish in particular, I have been extremely busy studying for my medical licensing exam in a couple of weeks (i am a med student). As you can probably tell, it's a super important + super information-filled assessment and I have felt absolutely TERRIBLE that I have not been able to give my cat as much attention as I wish I could. I do still play with her using her wand-toy-thing and I have been buying her a lot of new and different toys in hopes of keeping her busy while I study. I have even resorted to studying at home constantly so I am at least around her but I feel so bad when she comes over to me and meows and I can't play with her because I am in the middle of a practice exam or something like that. Lately I have also noticed she has been meowing much more frequently (I can't figure out if this is for my attention-since she does not always appear to be looking at me when she does it-or because she is busy being a cat and meowing at whatever little thing she sees). She hasn't been initiating as much snuggling with me as she usually does, although when I go over to her, she is still very friendly and loving-I am thinking this is the result of her putting two and two together from the countless amount of times I haven't been able to respond to her meows for attention while I'm studying.