How Do I Begin A Wet Food Rotation?

catamarandy

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi. I'm new to the concept of a wet food rotation for my cat. She has been eating only two flavors within the Weruva brand along with some dry food during the day. I ordered her a variety pack of Tiki Cat and it's arriving tomorrow. How do I transition her to new wet diet without causing tummy upset? My plan is to find about 3 different brands to feed her. Weruva will not be included in this rotation. I'm considering Fancy Feast Classic pate, since I'm on a budget. Is that any good?

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi!
Fancy feast classic pate is fine :)

One way that's suggested is to start by putting about 25 percent of the food dish in the new food while leaving the other 75 percent as the old food. Then half and half, and then 75 percent is the new food, and then you'll have the entire quantity on the plate as the new food. The timing is entirely up to your cat's tummy :)

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

catamarandy

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi!
Fancy feast classic pate is fine :)

One way that's suggested is to start by putting about 25 percent of the food dish in the new food while leaving the other 75 percent as the old food. Then half and half, and then 75 percent is the new food, and then you'll have the entire quantity on the plate as the new food. The timing is entirely up to your cat's tummy :)
Thank you. I will try that😊

maggie101

3 cats
Top Cat
Purraise
Since Tiki is so expensive, I mix it with cheaper food so it lasts longer

2 of my cats have no problem with giving them a different can every day. One of my cats does so slow transition for her

MissClouseau

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I had the same question about rotating between different cat foods and based on the answer sounds like that depends on the cat.