Help?

be81174

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi!

I am still quite new to TNR so I have only had a handful of cats done. Lsat night I picked up 2 kittens of about 4 months. A girl and a boy. While they both seem pretty nervous, the boy seems rather lethargic compared to the girl. I have seen him eat but he hasn't come out of the carrier at all. The carrier is in a large cage and sitting open so they can move in and out. The girl has been out to use the litter and eat dry food. I haven't seen him out at all but he did poke his head out to eat some canned food. Now he is just flopped on his side - not even alert to noises.

Is this a problem? Should I take him to the vet? When do you know there is an issue? They are both feral so I wouldn't want to reach in and grab them unless it is important.

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Tough call on this. Watch him for a day or so to see how he does. He may just be exhausted and frightened. The fact he ate canned food is a good sign.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

be81174

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Tough call on this. Watch him for a day or so to see how he does. He may just be exhausted and frightened. The fact he ate canned food is a good sign.
I thought the eating was positive. He came out again to have some dry food and water. He might just be depressed. His sister comes out to crawl on things a little but they both are spending their time hiding in the carrier.

Thanks!

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
I would hope he gets more comfortable and begins to relax a little soon. Kittens usually are very active and curious, but when they are feral they have to get comfortable with humans and their new environment first.

Give it some time! I'd love to see a picture of them! :)

be81174

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise