Happy Droolers And Cats That Spit On You To Say "i Love You"...

1 bruce 1

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Just curious...

I've talked to others outside this forum that say they have cats that are "happy droolers", and will drool/drop spit when happy.
One of our little girls is 4 and only drools if she's in my lap, and it's the stringy type of drool you might see out of a Mastiff type dog. She only drools when she purrs and she's kneading my arm, leg, face, and staring into my eyes as though I were her kitten.
Her last check up showed nothing but great teeth, no signs of dental problems, gum problems, etc. Her teeth are beautiful, her gums are pink and ridiculously tight and she has no problem with us handling her mouth.
But the drool!!!!!! She gets in my lap, kneads all over, stares at me while doing so and purrs loudly while drops of bliss-spit falls into my lap. I work from home by trade so she's used to my being here almost constantly, but a recent project had me away from home for 10-12 hours a day. She gave me the cold shoulder the first few nights, but after that the drooling was crazier than ever.
She is extremely oriented to us. She's aloof with new people for about 30 minutes, then comes out and makes an appearance. To regular visitors, she initiates contact after a few visits. With us, she's like a lap dog and is hilariously stubborn about lap time and quite adorable about being so insistent about it.
She was spayed at 9 months. She has a group of toys that she treats like kittens and will deliver them at my feet no matter what her mood...then climbs into my lap while I work, purrs, spits all over me, lets the drool go like she's an English Mastiff and purrs her heart out.

Does anyone else have a cat that drops spit or drool when they're happy? I asked our vet, she wasn't worried as (like I said) her dental health is excellent. She's done this since kitten hood.