First Time Cat Owner... Hi

Fiain

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi, there.

I've been planning on adopting kitties since I got my own apartment in July after moving across the country. Well, ok. First it was a puppy, then kittens... then I realized that adults would likely suit me better. I'm a first year PhD student.

I was going to adopt from a friend, but she hadn't yet decided if she could part with her kitties (understandably!) and wished me luck yesterday finding the right ones for me, so... another friend and I went looking.

And Mercury and Erlenmeyer were the first two at the shelter that I saw (I did see some at pet stores earlier that I didn't fall in love with as much.) The volunteers there talked with me and we decided that these two would be a good fit for me. A bonded pair, 3 y/o - no major behavioral problems noted at the foster, both take a while to really settle in to a place but are friendly and sweet once they do. Both were sweethearts at the shelter, albeit timid and frightened.

So tonights their second night home. I'd be lying if I said I haven't cried and been overwhelmed and questioned whether I did the right thing - I have an anxiety disorder and got these two to try and help - they've only made it worse so far but... It's been 24 hours. I'm gonna hang in there a few weeks at least. Mer, the grey female, has been so clingy and hates when I leave the room she's in, but she's so friendly and cuddly when I'm around (She couldn't stand when I went to the bathroom yesterday... today seems a slight bit better but she panicked when I went to bed last night and didn't let me sleep, so we'll see how this goes). Erl doesn't wanna be pet, yet, but he's sat near me. So progress. I just... I don't want to let them down, and I wanna sleep, hah.