First time caring for stray mama - advice and questions

Marley401

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi! I am new to cats in general but a few months ago a stray/outside mama cat brought me her ~6 month old kitten who’s now fully adopted me :) now I’ve taken in the (unfortunately) pregnant mama cat as well. She gave birth to 5 kittens last night (3/16) in the box I prepared for her. The kittens seem well, all are latching on and seem to be eating and mama has been eating, drinking (some), and using the litter box.
But, she’s had some nasty diarrhea/loose stools tonight, like I heard it come out of her from two rooms away. Is this relatively normal ~24-36 hrs post birth?
She also has been laying outside of the birthing nest a few times today, leaving the kittens alone. Not far from the box but still not with the kittens. It is rather warm in the room (maybe 80 deg F), so maybe she’s hot?

I also weighed the kittens this evening and there’s about 20g range between them. Is this normal enough? I did not weigh before today as I didn’t have a scale.
Thank you for any help!!

Attachments

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Yes, if she ate all the placentas she will have diarrhea. Plus her hormones are in high gear. This will clear up soon.

Kittens look healthy and some are always bigger than others, especially with five. You’ll likely have a runt or two who will eventually catch up.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Marley401

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
thank you, that is comforting to know!!
What about the mama laying outside of the box on her own sometimes, should I worry about that? She’s definitely aware of what’s going on and came back right away when I started trying to weigh the kittens. And the kittens are sleeping quietly.

Marley401

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise