Feral Cats After The Death Of One Of Their Own

waddelne

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'm new to this site. I've been caring for 3 feral cats for the past 6-7 years on my property in a rural subdivision/development. Sadly, I had to put one of them down this week. His health has declined the past couple of weeks and after being missing for 4 days he came home for help. He tested positive for FIV, possibly had pneumonia, and his heart rate was so low it didn't register. It was very sad. I've never been able to pet him, but I was able to when we were at the vet's. He was the patriarch of the trio. During the time he was missing so were the other two. I thought they were missing because we got new neighbors who have a couple of dogs, but now I believe they were looking after or for their buddy. The problem is, the other two are still looking for him. They'll come to the deck for food, however, they won't eat and sit on the steps for a few minutes looking for him, then they leave. Will things eventually return to normal? Will they find someplace else for food? He was the glue that kept the 3 of them together and I worry they'll get in trouble.

dahli6

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Just keep doing what you do. Animals do go through a grieving process and it is possible that they expect him to return to them. They could be a part of a bigger group. Cats do form cliques within the larger group. I think eventually they will adjust or move on.

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Just to agree.

One remark: IF you hope to perhaps foster and socialize them, it may be now the occasion for an opening. When the situation is changed, when they need extra help.

If this ferale would survive, he would be easy to foster, now when he sough help. He got help, but he was too severly sick to survive...

But its essentially the same for the other two... If you manage to step in, to give them some comfort, help, relief - the Opening MAY open up again.