Feral cat advice - he'll let me pet him, but won't come out of his hiding spot

Lasagna

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello! I had been feeding a feral cat (now named Lasagna) for about 6 months, he wouldn't let me get closer than about 5 feet, but didn't seem super scared, and not at all aggressive. 3 months ago I trapped him for TNR, and the day I brought him home I found a cat that had been hit by a car 100 feet from my house. 😥 So for both his safety and my own emotional well-being, I made him a safe place in my laundry room with the intention of finding him a barn home. Since then, I realized he's super chill, and considered trying to see if he might be interested in being a housecat. My goal is still to find him a barn home where he can hang outside and do his cat thing as soon as it warms up some, and if that doesn't work I'd like him to be a housecat, but if he doesn't want that I'll release him where I caught him (my front yard) and just hope for the best!

Since he's been in my care, he only comes out of his cozy cat cave at night, when he eats, uses the litter box, and uses the scratching post. I spend time in the room with him during the day working so he can hear me, and he doesn't seem fazed by my presence. He lets me pet him, will eat treats that I put in front of him as soon as I walk away (he won't eat if I'm near), and most of the day I get to listen to him snoring (very loudly) as he lounges in his bed. But the fact that he won't come out during the day is what concerns me - is this definitive proof that he is not a candidate for indoor life? Or have I just not given it enough time?

Thank you in advance for any feedback you can provide, I just want to make sure I'm doing right by him!

Attachments

fionasmom

Staff Member
Purraise