Dry Food Going Bad?

ArtNJ

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I'm really trying to puzzle out what is going on with my cats. I bought a 16 pound bag of cat food maybe 6 months or so ago. My two share a 5.5 oz can daily with the remainder of their hunger satisfied by dry, and neither are particularly food motivated, so the 16 pounds lasts a long while. Dont recall brand exactly, but likely either Friskies, 9 Lives or Purina. Anyway, they are rejecting the last 1/3 of a pound hard. I have a sealable plastic container that I empty the bag into once opened -- I think it is pretty air tight or certainly very close. I wash the container out when its empty and towel dry it, so there is no truly ancient dry food left or anything like that.

The obvious answer is just to throw the food out, and I'm going to do that, but just puzzled because I've been doing exactly this for many years and never had this happen before. I guess I might want to buy a smaller bag next time too.

susanm9006

Willow
Top Cat
Purraise
Humidity can be high in summer months and every time you open the bag a bit gets in. Try throwing some chips in a plastic container, opening it once a day and if you check it in a few weeks my bet is they will no longer be crisp. I just buy a small bag of dry but I can tell from the cats reactions when it is no longer fresh.

amethyst

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
In general for pet food I don't open more then one month worth at a time that I will be opening daily. So if you get a big bag that will last you several months it's best to divide it up into several containers, one month worth per container. I know you said you have been just dumping it all in one container for years, but I know many companies are now trying to move away from having so many chemicals in their foods. That means it's better/safer for cats but also means it may not stay good for as long as it use to since less or different preservatives are used.

DeesCats

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper