Deworming Concerns

Outerzone92

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hey everyone, I'm going to be giving my cat some deworming medicine after being advised to, and I was wondering if I can get some tips on what to expect. I've posted on this site before, I just got my first ever kitty a month ago, so I'm completely new to this whole process.

To explain the situation, he's been fine the last few weeks, not showing any symptoms of being sick, no vomiting, no parasites in his stool, just being a normal healthy kitty. Then when I got home last night and settled in, I heard him heaving and looked over to find him vomiting. At first I thought it was just a hairball, but when I looked closer it had worms in it! At this point I'm completely freaked out and scared for my poor boy. I've stayed up with him most of the night, and he seems actually better than before he vomited last night. He's also been eating properly this whole time, so he hasn't lost his appetite, I'm just really worried about my big guy, even to the point where I'm sick to my stomach myself.

I'm also trying to figure out how he got the parasites to begin with. Ever since he was in the shelter, he's not been near any birds or rodents, he dosen't have any fleas, and overall I keep my trailer clean, especially where he hangs out. I haven't changed his food or brought anything weird into the trailer either. The only thing I've changed with him is his brand of kitty litter, though I don't know if that could have caused this at all.

I apologize if I went off-topic, I'm just worried sick about my boy and I want to make sure he's ok. If anyone can give me any advice on what to expect after he receives his medicine, it would be greatly appreciated.

jcat

Mo(w)gli's can opener
Veteran
Purraise