Collars for cats with EGC

xxPsychoBunny

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello!
My 11 month old fur baby Velveeta was diagnosed last month with EGC (more than likely due to food). We recently decided to try collars with him again since we live in an apartment complex and he likes to run out the door if he can. He doesn’t mind wearing it but we did notice that after he had it on for almost a full day, he was scratching at his neck quite frequently - he hadn’t scratched that much since we switched his food and his EGC started calming down (and when he did scratch it was his ears and chin)

I was wondering if it was the fabric of the collar? I know (or at least read) that EGC is an inflammatory skin problem, and thought maybe there was a better fabric that would be more hypoallergenic so he won’t itch as much (hopefully at all lol).

This is my first cat (my husband and I got him when he was 3 months old) and I’m still learning, so bear with me :)

Any and all advice would be appreciated!! Pic will be added for cuteness factor 😂

Attachments

Antonio65

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hello!
My 11 month old fur baby Velveeta was diagnosed last month with EGC (more than likely due to food). We recently decided to try collars with him again since we live in an apartment complex and he likes to run out the door if he can. He doesn’t mind wearing it but we did notice that after he had it on for almost a full day, he was scratching at his neck quite frequently
Velveeta is a really cue and has a beautiful name.

Is the collar made of fabric/velvet?
I found out that this kind of material tends to make skin itchy and very often causes irritation of the skin and hair loss.

Since he's going out often, would a flea collar (usually made with rubber) be a dual function solution for you?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

xxPsychoBunny

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Velveeta is a really cue and has a beautiful name.

Is the collar made of fabric/velvet?