Cleaning Urine Out Of Wood Floors

sivyaleah

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
This is not for me, it's for a friend.

Someone I work with needs to clean up wood floors from cat urine. Her old roommate's cat had issues and now that she's moved out, the floors need to be deep cleaned of the odor. I mentioned Nature's Miracle to her but, I think it's only for spot cleaning?

Anyone have any ideas how to tackle this? Her new roomie is allergic and she'd like to be sure it's as clean as possible for him.

I have no experience with cats peeing on floors at all, luckily, so I'm no help but I know someone here will be :biggrin:

furmonster mom

Lap #2
Top Cat
Purraise
Hate to say it, but my experience (15 years housecleaning, as well as some small wood shop work) says those floors are a gonner.

The problem is that the urine will have soaked into the cellulose (grain) of the wood, and there is really no way to draw it back out without destroying the wood's cellular structure (more than it already is).

The only thing I've heard of as a temporary solution is vinegar. This may neutralize the odor for a while, but my experience has been that it has to be done constantly... which again will deteriorate the floors even more over time.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

sivyaleah

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Hate to say it, but my experience (15 years housecleaning, as well as some small wood shop work) says those floors are a gonner.

The problem is that the urine will have soaked into the cellulose (grain) of the wood, and there is really no way to draw it back out without destroying the wood's cellular structure (more than it already is).

The only thing I've heard of as a temporary solution is vinegar. This may neutralize the odor for a while, but my experience has been that it has to be done constantly... which again will deteriorate the floors even more over time.
Oh no!