catteries

ceecee

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone! Hope you are all doing well. My question is:
I'm in the process of turning an old cement chicken coop into a cattery. Will this be safe or should I be concerned with any health issues? It will be completely redone from top to bottom. I'm a complete newbie at this cattery business, so if I ask some ridiculous questions please bear with me. I'm also looking for any books or good info on anything that has to do with catterys. Thank you for your time. :-)

sandie

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Well, other than needing to pressure wash everything, you should be fine. I breed, but my house is my cattery and I have whole rooms for everyone. I dont cage, so I cant help there. The best advice is that everything needs to stay clean. Every little thing is important. I have seen some pretty bad breeders, so I could go on. If you have any particular questions ask away.

Anne

Site Owner
Staff Member
Admin
Purraise
I'm not a breeder but from what I've heard it's best to keep females (and hence kittens) inside the home. This especially goof for kittens socialization. I think it makes a better impression with potential buyers. I know I would be detered by caging.

As for books - try this page:
http://www.thecatsite.com/shop/booksbreeds.html There are a couple of books there about breeding in general. I know that Robinson's feline genetics is many breeders' bible (it'd on that page as well).

Which breed are you going to have? Maybe we can help with breed specific info.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

ceecee

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise