Cat Water Fountain

Dags

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Drinkwell, Original Fountain - 50 oz

Above is the link to the water fountain that I got.
I am new to all this 'cat' stuff so if something sounds stupid, well .... I have no excuse.

So I was at the Ren's a local pets store and saw a couple of pet water fountains one was $59.99 and the others that were there were $129.99. Before anyone says
"you get want you pay for"
I figured, why not try it and see if Zoey likes it, again I have never had one nor do I know anyone with one. Its running right now in Zoey's room.... yes she seems to have her own room, and for a little water pump is seem kinda loud. Would this be an issue for cats? I still have her water bowl set out so she has options. I may have to move the fountain it down in the kitchen as hearing this all night will bug me and the wife.
Would a noisy drinking fountain keep her from using it?
Are the higher priced ones not a loud?

margd

Chula and Paul's roommate
Veteran
Purraise
To answer (kinda) your first question - it depends on the cat. Some cats can tolerate the noise and others can't. To get a good idea of cat responses, check out the fountain's amazon reviews. Some of the cats are scared of the noise, just as you are worried about. I'm wondering if there is some variability in the fountains themselves, too. Some of the reviewers say the fountains are exceedingly loud while others say they're fairly quiet.

As for your second question, I have a different model Drinkwell Fountain and it's very quiet. The only time it makes noise is when I misalign one of the parts or when the filters get jammed with cat hair and other debris. My cats love their fountain and have never been frightened of it, even when it does get noisy. The model I have only costs $44.95 so you don't need to spend a lot of money to find a fountain that is quiet.