Cat Spay Stitches HELP

KateZara

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
It’s been 8 days since my 1 year kitten got spayed. She’s seems normal her usual playful self. But today i saw this when checking her incision and I’m concerned. This is my first time ever owning a cat and ever taken it to get fixed. It looks to me like she’s opened her stitches. Can someone please tell me if this is normal?

Attachments

cat nap

stand with ukraine
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi KateZara KateZara :wave3:
yeah, that spay incision does need to be re-checked by your Vet.

It does look too open, and will probably need a few stitches or staples to close it.
I'm not sure if that's glue inside the opening, or yellow or white pus...so she may need some antibiotics, too.
They will flush it as well, and tell you if she needs them or not.

It's best if you can take her in as soon as you can, before the weekend.
Since it also looks a bit too red, so possibly an infection. not really sure.
Sometimes these things just happen, so don't think that you could have done anything to prevent it.
It's just really good that you took her to get spayed, and noticed this today.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

KateZara

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi KateZara KateZara :wave3:
yeah, that spay incision does need to be re-checked by your Vet.

It does look too open, and will probably need a few stitches or staples to close it.
I'm not sure if that's glue inside the opening, or yellow or white pus...so she may need some antibiotics, too.
They will flush it as well, and tell you if she needs them or not.

It's best if you can take her in as soon as you can, before the weekend.
Since it also looks a bit too red, so possibly an infection. not really sure.
Sometimes these things just happen, so don't think that you could have done anything to prevent it.
It's just really good that you took her to get spayed, and noticed this today.