Cat seems uncomfortable but no other symptoms

noreastern

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all,

I have been reading this site for years and found it very helpful. This is my first time posting. I'm wondering if anyone has advice on how concerned I should be about my cat Paige who is acting like she feels uncomfortable a lot of the time but doesn't really have any other symptoms.

For background, I had two long-time cats who both passed away a few years ago from intestinal lymphoma. About six weeks ago, I adopted Paige from the local shelter. They estimate she is about 3 years old. She had been found as a stray and was very pregnant. She gave birth to a large litter (six kittens) in foster care and stayed with them until the kittens were weaned. The shelter then spayed her, and we adopted her a few days later. When we took her in, she was recovering from the spay surgery and also had enlarged mammaries with mild mastitis. A vet visit also revealed that she had giardia. (We were surprised, because she did not have diarrhea.) She seemed visibly uncomfortable a lot of the time - somewhat lethargic and often sat in a hunched posture. We assumed this was because of the mastitis and giardia.