Cat 'runs' On Windows?

quatrogatos

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all,
This is my first time here, I tried skimming the forum but didn't see any topics that relate to my problem.
I have a 3 year old adult indoor female who LOVES to run her paws on windows and mirrors. I have to hide my full length mirror at night otherwise she will sit there and run her paws on the surface over and over again, for several minutes! Then she takes a break and goes back to 'running'.
A few weeks ago, it was really hot in our bedroom so we opened the glass. We didn't realize the screen was open and our precious girl got outside. I realized 10 minutes later and was able to retrieve her and get her inside safely. However, she got a taste of the outdoors and she wants more! Now every night she runs her paws on the glass, over and over again. It's getting to the point where my significant other and I are losing sleep over it. We live in an apartment building on a fairly busy road so I don't want to just let her go out every time she runs on the glass. The first time was a mistake!

Does anyone know how I can stop her from running on the glass, so we can get some sleep at night?? Thank you very much!

susanm9006

Willow
Top Cat
Purraise
When she runs on the glass at night, tell her no, pick her up and set her a few feet from the window. If she does it again, tell her no and shut her out of the bedroom for the night. If you are consistent she should catch on she isn’t allowed to paw the window, at least in your bedroom at night.

betsygee

Just what part of meow don't you understand.
Staff Member
Purraise
susanm9006 susanm9006 's idea to retrain her is a good one. If it doesn't work, you could try aluminum foil. I read that most cats don't like the feel or sound of it so I taped some on the bottom of a door once to keep a cat from scratching on it. It worked and after a few days I was able to remove the foil.

PushPurrCatPaws

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi all,