Cat Proofing Couch Recliners Help!

TortitideBaby

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have a, 10 month old tortie (estimated) and she keeps going underneath the couches. Its scary because their recliners- two big couches that can open up right against each wall with the exception of a small gap. One is a motorized recliner while the other isn't. We got them before we had a cat, so it wasn't an issue since the dogs were too big to get stuck inside. However, my cat DOES go deep inside the couch and that scares me.

We tried blocking the couch with objects on each end, but she just hops right over without a problem. Is there other ways to kitty proof the recliners?

EmmiTemmi

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I have no experience with reclining couches. But my advice would be to, at least, make sure you know where your cat is before you start reclining the couch. Know for certain she's somewhere else before you begin reclining.

Normally, I would suggest double sided tape, or aluminium foil in the area you don't want your cat to go. But that doesn't seem like an option here.

Just be very careful when you recline!

maggiedemi

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I know how you feel, I hate recliners now that I have indoor cats. Mine are recliner chairs, so I just stacked books at the opening in the back. But then I still had to worry about the front when somebody has the footrest up. So I just ended up begging everybody not to put the footrest up. I'm going to get a footstool for it.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

TortitideBaby

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I know how you feel, I hate recliners now that I have indoor cats. Mine are recliner chairs, so I just stacked books at the opening in the back. But then I still had to worry about the front when somebody has the footrest up. So I just ended up begging everybody not to put the footrest up. I'm going to get a footstool for it.