Cat perpetually getting UTI's. Received difficult advice which need some guidance on

19_k90

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My cat Jupiter, who is large and male, has gotten a string of UTIs over this winter/spring (4 to be exact). I think it might be related to some degree of separation anxiety, but it's incredibly hard to tell based on his behaviour, and the most recent occurrence happened at a time that I hardly leave the house.

I took him to the vet for this recent one about 12 days ago and he received great care and a lot of meds. This was my final vet visit as treatment, as I've taken him 4x in the space of a few months and I am a broke artist and I regrettably can't do another trip should it happen again in the next few months. The vet suggested that this is common in large male cats of his size, and its common for people to put them down as it's an unrelenting cycle of costs (and pain for the cat). This makes sense, but it also feels excessive to put my beloved Jupiter down due to my lack of funds & because they're UTI's, not heart problems..but this is also my first real pet and I've never found myself in this position before. Is giving him up to an Animal Care shelter an option, and would they treat him? (I live in Toronto, if it helps).

Appreciate any and all support and suggestions

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
There should be more things you can try before making such a final decision for Jupiter.

How old is he, btw? Does he have crystals/stones in his urine? When the urinalyses were done to determine he had a UTI, was a urine culture also done? Unlike the urinalysis, the urine culture will identify the type of bacteria that is involved and what antibiotics are the best ones for treating the UTI. Most antibiotics will help, but not all will totally eradicate a UTI, so it looks like it keeps coming back when it never really totally went away.