cat in a cage

doudounne

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi. I am planning on capturing a young feral male in a cage to bring him to the vet as part of a trap-neuter-release program - when all ths Covid stuff quiets down. This means he will have to spend the night in the cage as he only comes late in the evening. My only concern is that he might injure himself trying to get out. I have seen blood on the cage once when I moved a raccoon to another area and even if it was minor, I wouldn't want the cat to go through with this. I have been feeding him for several months and he interacts very well with my female cat who was converted into a house cat 10 years ago. Think this might keep him from over reacting ? Thanks for your time, and stay safe !

shadowsrescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I would really suggest you use a humane trap instead of a cage. I have trapped cats at night and placed them in my basement in a covered trap. Some do well and some do not do well. Yet if you keep them in a quiet spot away from people, other animals and loud noises it should be ok. I always leave a soft low light on and play quiet music.

I would not allow your other cat to interact with him right now. It might be very upsetting having one in a cage or trap and the other roaming around.

Also you want to be sure the feral cat has been vaccinated and tested for FELV and FIV if you plan on allowing him to interact with your other cat.

Thank you for helping this sweet boy. You will make his life so much easier.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

doudounne

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I would really suggest you use a humane trap instead of a cage. I have trapped cats at night and placed them in my basement in a covered trap. Some do well and some do not do well. Yet if you keep them in a quiet spot away from people, other animals and loud noises it should be ok. I always leave a soft low light on and play quiet music.