cat cancer treatment

jllangham

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi and thank you for the welcome. This is my first time joining a cat forum. I have 4 wonderful cats who I adore. My oldest (15) recently feel ill (13 days ago), he was perfectly fine one day and the next became lethargic and stopped eating. We thought he might just have a virus but after he didn't recover in a couple of days we rushed him to the vet. His bloodwork was fine according to the vet and we were sent home with subcutaneous fluids and an appetite stimulant. For a couple days he seemed to be getting a little better and eating a bit more. Then he completely stopped eating again and just sleeps. He is normally a very happy, active cat with a big appetite. We got very concerned that perhaps he went into the fatty liver disease so we took him to another vet (our other vet was out) and he did another CBC blood test which showed his immune markers (monocytes, neutrophils, WBC) so he though he might have an infection so gave him an antibiotic shot and said to wait for a couple of days and force feed with a syringe which we have been doing. We have another appt with our original vet tomorrow as he isn't any better. But the vet said he might have cancer so I am trying to do research to see what options we have if that ends up being the diagnosis so I can make a more informed decision. I would like to find out from the community what experience they have with cancer and what success they might have had with natural/alternative as well as chemotherapy?

fionasmom

Staff Member
Purraise