Can’s Feel Kittens Kicking

RejoiceErb

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi! I’m a beginner Ragdoll breeder and I have a pregnant cat. She mated February 8th so she’s about 7 weeks now. From all the research I’ve done, I’ve read that you should be able to feel the kittens moving/kicking at this time. But I can’t. She has a big belly and big pink nipples so I’m pretty sure she’s pregnant. Could it just be that she has a small litter? Or maybe a big litter? Thanks!

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
You can't always feel or see kittens kicking. The cat in my avatar has a litter of three VERY active baby kittens right now, and I did not feel or see kicking during her pregnancy, except for one tiny kick a few days before her kittens were born. So don't let that worry you.

If you want to get a prenatal checkup for the mom and kittens, you could get an ultrasound or x-ray. An ultrasound would give you information about whether she has live kittens, since the heartbeats can be seen on ultrasound. On the other hand if you want to get a count of the kittens, an x-ray would be a little more reliable way of getting that information. By 7 weeks, the kittens' skeletons have normally calcified enough to be seen on x-ray.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

RejoiceErb

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
You can't always feel or see kittens kicking. The cat in my avatar has a litter of three VERY active baby kittens right now, and I did not feel or see kicking during her pregnancy, except for one tiny kick a few days before her kittens were born. So don't let that worry you.