Bathing cat to help treat giardia

Meowmee

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I have never done this before but I wonder if anyone else has? I was reading a website about treatment for Giardia and in addition to keeping everything very clean they suggested bathing the cat. I’m a little concerned about this because Xena has long hair and I’ve noticed a little bits of dried poop that have fallen off onto the Wee pads later after I cleaned up his litter pan etc. The problem is he is not touchable and there is no way I’m going to be able to give him a bath. Any ideas?

We are having some meowy convos now about me feeding him and he will eat with me there now, but he is still scared and hissing, but I see improvement so I am hoping he can be tamed in time. He is on 2x gabapentin now which seems to be helping him relax more. I hope to wean him off of it in time.

Last edited:

gabicards

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I dealt with that for months on end with my cat, who also has long hair. I used to keep an eye on him and whenever he pooped I picked up up from the litter box - I didn't give him the chance to try and cover anything and end up stepping on it (which he often did, and still does as an adult, but now that his poop is dry it's never messy). Then I'd clean it right away.

I did also bathe him often, but I'm under the impression that didn't help much. I also kept pet wipes near his litter box at all times, and always wiped his paws after he used it. Giardia is exhausting, I'm sorry you're dealing with that.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Meowmee

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I dealt with that for months on end with my cat, who also has long hair. I used to keep an eye on him and whenever he pooped I picked up up from the litter box - I didn't give him the chance to try and cover anything and end up stepping on it (which he often did, and still does as an adult, but now that his poop is dry it's never messy). Then I'd clean it right away.