At What Point In Pregnancy Can You See/feel Kittens Move?

Tobychops

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi, new here.
I am a foster carer for a local cat charity and have my first pregnant stray in my care. She was brought in only a week ago and was visibly quite pregnant then.
Vet checks were all good and he said she was "over halfway".
Now my question is - the last couplc of days I have felt and seen the kittens physically move, online tells me that happens around 7 weeks but if that was the case would the vet now have told me so rather than giving me the impression she's only just over half way?
Can you see/feel earlier than 7 weeks?
I have everything ready so it's not a case of not been prepared but I guess anticipation is creeping in as this is my first time.
Thanks in advance.

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
She’s probably in her last couple of weeks if you are seeing kitten movement. That’s when it’s normal to see it.

Do you have a nest set up for her in a private area? Is she eating plenty of wet and dry food?

Thank you for fostering! Wait until you fall in love with the kittens! :)

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Tobychops

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Yes she has a large dog crate set up with everything in there.
Eating and drinking plenty.
I've fostered for a fair while, have had litters of kittens trapped from colonies but never experienced birth or pregnancy for that matter.
So you would say she possibly has another 2 weeks or there abouts to go?
I was expecting more like 4 weeks after the vet visit but then seeing the movement sent me googling and like you was saying around 7 weeks pregnant.

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
Yes, I agree with Sarthur2, I think it sounds like she should have about two weeks left. That’s usually when you can start seeing or feeling movement.

JadeOreo

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise