Anxiety/Cold Feet about adopting a cat...??

kamquat

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello.

First of all, this is my first time owning a cat and I've done extensive research into adopting/rescuing one, please bear with me. About 1.5 weeks ago, I adopted a (1 year old) cat named Kiwi, I fell in love with Kiwi the first moment I saw him. Before getting him, I got litter boxes, a bed, and toys for him. He was adapting really well after 2 days in my house, my parents and sisters also really love him. But then Kiwi got a red patch from scratching himself too much by the ears... and then I saw fleas... and then he was sneezing! I was so worried, I got him to the vet the next day. Turns out, the poor boyo got URI... I got meds and flea treatment for him... Kiwi was also so stressed on the way to the vet and during the visit, I felt SO bad. Even when I was administering his liquid med for him, I felt even more horrible... I gave him so much treats after haha (Poor boyo is still sniffling and sneezing and I just kept apologizing to him😭😭😭)

I was grooming him each day after the vet (and flea treatment: Revolution) to see if the fleas were still there. I found about 1-3 and I freaked out. My older sister told me she's just triggered by the thought of fleas in our house and she refuses to come because her place has carpet. That's one of my worries. Fleas.

Now I'm thinking about how I wasn't ready to adopt Kiwi. I feel like he deserves a much better owner and a better home... He's such a sweet boy and I feel like I was too gung-ho about this. If you guys could give me any insight on what to do (return him to shelter or keep him), please let me know. I've been crying literally every single day after the vet visit because I kept thinking how I was not prepared for this whole ordeal lol.

maggie101

3 cats
Top Cat
Purraise