Adopted New Cat With Ckd - Wondering If I Bit Off Too Much. :(

dirtyhippiegirl

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone! Not sure if I am posting this in the right spot. Please bear with me.

We were a three cat household until my oldest cat (Emma) passed away in September. I thought I was content with two (Radar and Tiger) until I saw a FB post about an older cat with stage 2 chronic kidney disease who'd been in the shelter for 200+ days. I'd been kind of thinking about getting an older/special/medical needs cat for a few weeks, actually. I'm a RN by trade and also have experience managing end-of-life issues with Emma and feline diabetes with Radar. (He's off his insulin these days and diet-controlled!)

I did some research on caring with cats with CKD and thought I could give this a shot. So now I have a third cat again - Eleanor. She's ten with "stable" stage-2 chronic kidney disease and fairly severe, imho, arthritis probably from being declawed by her previous owners. The ladies at the shelter said she was a decent eater with her kidney diet - preferred the wet food but would also eat the dry kibble.

We are on day four at home. She won't touch the kidney diet, of course. I'm mixing the wet kidney with some Fancy Feast (not ideal - fairly high phos content) and bonito flakes and having luck finger-feeding her. But I'd be lying if I said trying to get her to eat is causing me a LOT of stress right now.