5 month old foster females in heat

Mushandthefamily

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hey everyone, I volunteer for a rescue. I’ve been fostering since March so I’m a little new to kittens in general, but my rescue hasn’t been able to make spay and neuter appointments for months now because the lady who books them is in the hospital. There’s no backup personnel for it.

I’ve had these girls since birth and now the one is in heat. I’m crying and upset that I’m basically a terrible foster parent for not finding other places to get this done as I figured 5 months of age isn’t too late. I’m taking them to another agency this weekend hopefully to get them done and maybe the rescue can reimburse me. Idk. I feel terribly about all of this. Are they going to get mammary cancer now that the one is going to be spayed after her first heat has begun? I feel so horribly.

iPappy

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hey everyone, I volunteer for a rescue. I’ve been fostering since March so I’m a little new to kittens in general, but my rescue hasn’t been able to make spay and neuter appointments for months now because the lady who books them is in the hospital. There’s no backup personnel for it.

I’ve had these girls since birth and now the one is in heat. I’m crying and upset that I’m basically a terrible foster parent for not finding other places to get this done as I figured 5 months of age isn’t too late. I’m taking them to another agency this weekend hopefully to get them done and maybe the rescue can reimburse me. Idk. I feel terribly about all of this. Are they going to get mammary cancer now that the one is going to be spayed after her first heat has begun? I feel so horribly.