1 year old cat with severe FLUTD

mikhailo

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello

I’m Mikhailo, and i’m extremely desperate at this point to find a solution for my cat Bolin.
I am a poor college student and my cat had a UTI when he was eight months old. He had bloodwork(normal), x rays(normal), and a urinalysis(first one bacteria, second one normal). I was sent home after hed had antibiotics and fluids injected and a food that costs a small fortune and he appeared to improve a tiny bit. I also got more toys for him, a cat tree, anything I could to relieve stress.

This was not the end of it, it was just the first time. literally six weeks later, he had this same problem. I was struggling to even pay for this round of episodes and it started the same way. Blood in urine, straining to pee, laying down and crying. He had no bacteria in his urine, so all three vets I’ve seen have told me it’s FLUTD and that I basically just have to figure it out by trial and error. I am running out of trials.

Since then he’s had a flare up once a month (He’s just over a year old now) of the same stuff (Straining, blood in urine) and it doesn’t matter what I do. He’s been on Royal Canin prescription food, Hills prescription food, wet and dry, I soak his food every morning, he’s on anti-anxiety medication. Cosequin. Anti inflammatories during flare ups. He has a water fountain that circulates water and he seems to like it.

I’ve spent thousands of dollars and I truly have no idea what to do at all. He’s in the middle of yet another flare up for an undisclosed reason and I physically can’t take him to the vet for the umpteenth time because I’m poor. All I want to do is help him and give him a quality of life and I’m not doing that for him and it hurts so bad.