TheCatSite.com › Forums › General Forums › New Cats on the Block › Hi, not sure if this is right area..
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Hi, not sure if this is right area..

post #1 of 8
Thread Starter 
Hi, my girlfriend and I are moving soon and we are only taking two of our 3 cats. There is a local no-kill shelter that charges $100 to let her in and care for her but the list is very long and we fear we won't be able to get her in on time. My girlfriend put up an ad in petfinder.com. She got 4 responses asking information. Two of these were obviously some kind of mass mail and so were ignored. One was a vet from the UK, but she didn't want to pay for such a long trip. The last one said he was a priest in Canada and that he recently lost his pet and wants Furia and that he would pay for Pet Transport, plus an extra $50 on top of her $40 fee to adopt her. He sent pictures of his family.

My girlfriend is kind of suspicious because he seems so eager to adopt and pay extra for a cat that is ilke 2,000 miles away, that he hasn't even seen a picture of.

Is this for real? How can we tell? Are there scams of getting cats or something?
post #2 of 8
Yes, I do believe there are scams out there... when I put up an ad for my kittens I got similar e-mails. If I were her, I would ask lots of detailed questions and see how he plans to pay for it. If he says he's sending a money order, and wants the cat shipped, it's usually a scam.
post #3 of 8
Thread Starter 
Hi, out of curosity, why would someone in canada want a cat so badly if not for legitimate reasons?
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by scythetleppo View Post
Hi, out of curosity, why would someone in canada want a cat so badly if not for legitimate reasons?
Sadly, this is a common scam. He does not want the cat, but your money. He would have come up with some reason for fund transfer, needs your bank info, etc. The next thing you know, your bank account is wiped out, or your identity stolen. Do not respond to this person.
post #5 of 8
Thread Starter 
Thanks... does anyone have any alternative ideas as to what to do as far as getting Furia adopted?
post #6 of 8
Hi and welcome to TCS!!!

See you on the forums!
post #7 of 8
Hi there we're so happy to welcome you and your furbabies to TCS. I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay with us - we're one great big family and you'll find loads of friends here. If I can help at all while you're finding your way around TCS just click on my username and send me a Personal Message - I'll do what I can to answer your questions

Sorry to hear that you're having to place one of your kitties. Your could try posting in our Cats SOS forum - here is the link
post #8 of 8
Hi,

yes, by now you've gotten other posts saying the same thing, but this is probably a scam by someone unscrupulous, and I hope and pray you haven't let her go to them. Also, I'm sure others have asked, but why would you let her go? I am posting on Sept. 25, and HOPE that you have moved with all 3 and will keep them with you always. Cats are like people -- a lifetime commitment, and they deserve to be loved and cared for unconditionally...
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: New Cats on the Block
TheCatSite.com › Forums › General Forums › New Cats on the Block › Hi, not sure if this is right area..