Originally Posted by esrgirl
What I mean is, if one isn't prolife then it doesn't matter to them whether an egg would eventually become a chicken- the egg doesn't have a central nervous system. It isnt a chicken yet. Milk also does not have a central nervous system-therefor it isn't meat. Fish are meat. Milk may come from a cow or goat, but the only kind of vegetarian who would be concerned is a vegan.
I should also note that two years ago I considered anyone who called themselves a vegetarian and did eat milk and eggs a non-vegetarian because the practice of exploiting animals was as bad to me as eating meat and inadvertingly lead to the killing of animals regardless. Only a vegan is a true vegetarian! Needless to say I changed my mind, so hey, what do I know!
We are saying the exact same thing.
I was just stumbling over your own semantics and trying to point out that you erroneously stated that vegetarians eat only PLANT based items when obviously milk and cheese aren't PLANT BASED...That is the only point I was trying to get across. I am sure you agree.
I wasn't getting into anything being prolife or discussing the fine lines of vegetarianism.
I simply wanted to point out the error in your statement
"that vegetarians only eat PLANT BASED ITEMS"...
Milk and cheese may not be animals per se, but they certainly aren't plant based! At least from what I remember from Biology class
And I think someone has every right to call themselves a vegetarian if they eat these items
I know vegetarians and vegans and then there are those who call themselves vegetarians but all they really eat are fries..(I secretly call those friends starchatarians